National Project Implementation Unit

(A Unit of MHRD, Govt of India for Implementation of World Bank Assisted Projects in Technical Education)

TEQIP-I: Project Strategy

In the first cycle of the First Phase of the Programme six States namely, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, and Uttar Pradesh have been assessed to be eligible and have been selected based on their preparedness and commitment to implement academic and non-academic reforms. More States/UTs that have expressed their ‘in principle agreement’ may participate in the subsequent cycles of the First Phase when they are fully prepared to implement academic and non-academic reforms. During the First Phase it is estimated that 17 to 20 Lead, 50 to 60 Network Institutions and about 15 well performing polytechnics will be included. These will be competitively selected in 2 to 3 cycles and would be supported under competitive funding. During First Phase of the Programme, in the Central sector it is anticipated that 6 Lead and 2 Network Institutions will be funded. In the State sector 12 Lead, 51 Network and 15 polytechnics will be funded. No polytechnic is proposed to be funded under Central Sector.

The Programme management structures at the national and State levels will be supported under non-competitive funding.

Central Institutions and the Institutions located in the selected States wishing to participate in the Programme, as Lead or Network Institution will be required to meet the prescribed criteria, form clusters, and develop composite proposals for entering into a national competition amongst the centrally funded institutions and institutions from the selected States.

Systems would be developed, studies undertaken and specialised training carried out to enhance the overall capability of the Technical Education Management System.

Structures for management and monitoring of the Programme are being established in each of the selected State and at the National level.

Selection of institutions for financial assistance will be made in 2-3 cycles during each Phase and will be carried out through a transparent competitive process. The provision of selections in several cycles has been made keeping in view that all potential States/UTs and institutions may not be ready as soon as the Programme starts.

In subsequent cycle, more States/UTs can participate after assessment of their commitment and preparedness. In any one cycle, the selection process will be a twostep process. The first step will involve short listing of: (a) potential and eligible Lead Institutions and (b) potential and eligible Network Institutions based on their Eligibility Applications. The second step will involve final selection of clusters of institutions based on Composite Proposals developed by each competing cluster.

Institutions that could not apply and those that could not establish their eligibility in a cycle would be free to apply/re-apply for their eligibility in a subsequent cycle.

Financial requirements of institutions could vary depending upon their pursuit of excellence. Also, institutions may require expenditure over differing periods.

Institutions that have participated in any Phase of the Programme and propose to advance further in their strive for excellence would be free to seek grants through competition in any subsequent Phase.

Institutions already participating in a Programme could, with the consent of the sponsoring agencies (State Government) and the NPD, upgrade their proposals for achieving higher targets and better outcomes and also for expanding coverage of their activities, and seek additional funding. Such institutions would have already demonstrated highly satisfactory performance in their Programme implementation.

Depending upon their capacity, Lead Institutions already participating in a Programme could, with the consent of the sponsoring agencies and the NPD, include in their network additional institutions from the panel of eligible Network Institutions.

The following types of educational institutions are eligible for participation in the Programme:

  • Government funded, government aided and private institutions engaged in conducting degree, postgraduate and doctoral programmes in engineering disciplines. The term institution here includes stand-alone colleges, deemed universities (Technological), universities (Technological), and constituent colleges, departments and faculties of universities.
  • Government funded, government aided and private polytechnics (hereafter polytechnics will also be referred as institutions) engaged in conducting diploma, and post/advanced diploma programmes in engineering disciplines. Polytechnics could be stand-alone institutions or be constituents of universities/deemed universities.

Following types of educational institutions/activities will not be eligible for funding in the Programme:

  • Creation of new institutions
  • Institutions offering degree, post graduate and doctoral programmes in non engineering disciplines
  • Institutions offering diploma, post/advance diploma programmes in non-engineering disciplines
  • Starting of new courses in traditional disciplines without innovativeness
  • Large scale civil works
  • Education Management Information System (EMIS)
  • National Board of Accreditation (NBA)
  • Resource institutions

All Rights reserved. © Copyright: NPIU, 2017